Going somewhere else?

Bali

Bali est une île et une province de l’ouest de l’Indonésie située entre Java et Lombok. Réputée pour son art et sa vie nocturne, elle a logiquement hérité des surnoms « d’île de la paix » et « aire de jeux de l’Asie ». Détendez-vous, entre plaisirs du corps, massages sur la plage et soins dans un spa luxuriant. Vous aurez également besoin d’un sac supplémentaire pour votre shopping. Vous serez surpris par l’excellente cuisine régionale aux saveurs du marché, souvent préparée par des chefs et servie dans les restaurants de classe mondiale. Admirez la vue imprenable sur la plage au crépuscule, puis direction Kuta pour une nuit de fête!

Carte des villas de Bali

Introduction

Un environnement exceptionnel

Bali est une île et la plus petite province d’Indonésie, située dans l’ouest de l’archipel, entre Java et Lombok. Sa capitale est Denpasar. Singaraja, au nord, est  la deuxième plus grande ville avec environ 100 000 habitants et un passé colonial riche. Le Mont Agung est un volcan actif situe au centre de l’ile, a 3031 mètres d’altitude. L’île est entourée de récifs de corail ce qui lui offre de superbes plages, de sable blanc au sud et de sable noir au nord.

Une culture riche et originale

Malgré trois siècles de domination hollandaise, Bali a été influencée en majeure partie par les cultures austronésienne et indienne. Son système de castes est basé sur le modèle indien et en comporte quatre : les shudras, paysans constituant 93% de la population, les wesias, les marchands et les fonctionnaires, les kshatriyas, la caste des rois et des guerriers, et les brahmins, les prêtres et les saints. L’île devint indépendante en 1949 mais la véritable période de paix qui vit le tourisme grimper en flèche commença dans les années 1960.

Une faune et une flore incroyables

La vie sauvage et les sites touristiques en pleine nature que l’île recèle sont stupéfiants. Il y a environ 280 espèces d’oiseaux et plus de 900 espèces de récifs. Malgré la petite taille de Bali, la nature y est remarquablement préservée et accueille de nombreuses espèces de plantes bien que beaucoup aient été introduites par l’homme. Le climat humide et la pluie sont idéaux pour la flore, vous trouverez par exemple des arbres comme le banyan, le jacquier, le cocotier, plusieurs espèces de bambou ou encore des acacias.

Plus belle île du monde

Bali est une destination touristique qui a su préserver sa culture et ses arts traditionnels. La vie nocturne est très animée à Seminyak et à Kuta, les principaux lieux touristiques de l’île. L’immobilier s’est également développé un peu partout. En 2010, Bali a reçu le prix de la “meilleure île” par Travel and Leisure, qui a souligné le caractère accueillant de la population locale, les excellents restaurants, un cadre attrayant et des sites touristiques qui valent la peine d’être vus.

HistoIre et Culture

Les premiers habitants et l’arrivée du bouddhisme

Entre 3000 et 600 avant JC, les peuples austronésiens migrèrent depuis le sud de la Chine via les Philippines et Sulawesi, puis s’établirent sur l’ile, cultivant et construisant des villages. Ils continuèrent leur expansion vers l’est jusqu’aux îles de Mélanésie et de Polynésie jusque vers 1000 avant JC. Entre le VIII et le III ème siècle avant JC, Bali  vit se propager les techniques métallurgiques “Dong Song”, depuis le nord du Vietnam.

L’Histoire Ancienne dura ensuite de 800 à 1343. Elle est délimitée par l’apparition des premières écritures, sous la forme de palettes d’argile portant des inscriptions bouddhistes datant du VIII ème siècle. Cette période est associée à l’arrivée du bouddhisme et de l’hindouisme sur l’ile et à leur expansion. Des mariages entre les familles royales de Java et de Bali furent organisés de sorte qu’elles se réunirent et régnèrent ensemble sur les deux royaumes.

L’Empire Majapahit

L’année 1343 marqua le début de l’Age d’Or Majapahit, après que Gajah Mada, premier ministre du roi javanais, vainquit le roi balinais. Le règne Majapahit se caractérise par une forte influence de la culture javanaise sur Bali. Les quelques balinais n’ayant pas adopté cette culture sont aujourd’hui appelés les “Bali Aga » (« balinais d’origine ») et vivent toujours dans quelques villages isolés.

L’empire Majapahit tomba avec la montée de l’islam dans l’archipel indonésien. Bali devint indépendante à la fin du XV ème siècle, et beaucoup d’aristocrates Javanais y trouvèrent refuge, faisant affluer les arts, la littérature et la religion hindous.

La résistance à la colonisation européenne

En 1597, l’explorateur hollandais Cornelis de Houtman posa le pied sur Bali avec 89 hommes et baptisa l’île la  » Jeune Hollande ». Une seconde expédition hollandaise arriva en 1601. Bien que la Compagnie des Indes hollandaise fut très active dans les Moluques, Java et Sumatra, elle n’accordait alors que peu d’intérêt à Bali.

La Compagnie laissa le commerce aux mains des négociants qui y apportèrent principalement de l’opium et des esclaves. Les esclaves balinais étaient appréciés pour leur savoir-faire et leur courage, les femmes pour leur beauté et leur sens artistique. Les hollandais et les balinais tentèrent de s’allier contre le sultanat Mataram de Java  mais ils échouèrent, divisant l’île en neuf royaumes qui se combattirent sans cesse jusqu’au XIX ème siècle.

Pendant une brève période, entre 1806 et 1815, les Pays-Bas devinrent province française et Bali fut ainsi administrée conjointement par les français et les hollandais. Puis les britanniques occupèrent les Indes orientales mais échouèrent a s’allier avec les rois balinais. L’abolition de l’esclavage déclencha l’indignation des Rajas de Buleleng et Karangasem qui combattirent les britanniques en 1814.

La domination totale des Hollandais

La Grande Bretagne rendit les Indes orientales aux Pays-Bas en 1816, après quoi les Néerlandais tentèrent de se réaffirmer et de renforcer leur contrôle sur leurs possessions coloniales. Une série de trois expéditions militaires entre 1846 à 1849 conduisit à la victoire néerlandaise dans le nord, ou une administration coloniale fut établie.

A partir de 1855, des réformes furent faites comme l’introduction de la vaccination, l’interdiction de l’autosacrifice, et l’abolition de l’esclavage. En 1894, les hollandais défirent le roi de Lombok et ajoutèrent son royaume et celui de Karangasem à leurs possessions. En 1906 et en 1908, les interventions néerlandaises dans les régions de Sanur et Klungkung conduisirent à la disparition de la maison royale de Badung et la fin de la dynastie Majapahit. Les gouverneurs hollandais exercèrent alors un contrôle administratif sur l’île, mais les affaires de religion et de culture furent généralement laissées aux mains des locaux. Cependant l’Occident fut choqué par la conquête sanglante de la partie sud de l’île, ce qui affecta l’image des Pays-Bas en tant que puissance coloniale. Les Néerlandais devinrent alors progressivement les protecteurs de la culture balinaise et tentèrent de la préserver. En 1914, Bali fut ouverte au tourisme.

Pendant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale le Japon impérial occupa l’ile. Après sa reddition en 1945, les néerlandais revinrent à Bali pour rétablir leur administration d’avant-guerre. Le colonel balinais Gusti Ngurah Rai forma une armée locale qui fut anéantie le 20 Novembre 1946 à la bataille de Marga, brisant le dernier relent de résistance militaire.

L’indépendance et l’essor du tourisme

Le 29 Décembre 1949, les Pays-Bas reconnurent l’indépendance de l’Indonésie et Bali fut incorporée aux Etats-Unis d’Indonésie. Des conflits sociaux eurent lieu à travers l’Indonésie dans les années 1950 et 1960, divisant les partisans du système traditionnel des castes et ceux qui rejetaient ces valeurs traditionnelles. Un coup d’Etat à Jakarta par le général Suharto mit l’armée au pouvoir et mena a une violente purge anti-communiste. Au moins 500.000 personnes furent tuées à travers toute l’Indonésie, avec une estimation de 80.000 morts à Bali, soit 5% de la population locale. Suharto remplaça Sukarno comme président et rétablit les relations avec les pays occidentaux.

Suharto développa le tourisme et contribua à renforcer le sentiment d’identité balinaise, donnant aux balinais les moyens de soutenir leur culture dans la société indonésienne. Bali accueillit plus de 1 million de visiteurs en 2004 et plus de 2 millions en 2008.

Agenda

Festival Bali Spirit

Depuis 2008, au mois de mars, le Bali Spirit Festival est un événement spirituel qui tourne autour du yoga, de la danse et de la musique. En tant que l’un des principaux festivals de style de vie dans le monde, il réunit des concerts, plus de 100 ateliers autour de la santé, du bien-être et des arts de la guérison, et bien d’autres réjouissances. Venez profiter de cinq jours de pure détente à Ubud.

Hari Raya Galungan

Tenu le 21 mai, cet événement est l’un des plus importants pour les balinais. Il célèbre la victoire du bien, Dharma, contre le mal, Adharma. Un élément clé de cet événement est le Penjor, une perche en bambou décorée de feuilles de cocotier, de fruits, de gâteaux et de fleurs, qui se trouve à droite de la porte de chaque maison. Les gens doivent se parer de leurs plus beaux vêtements et bijoux pour l’occasion.

Festival des arts de Bali

En Juin, le Festival des arts de Bali accueille pendant un mois des représentations quotidiennes, des expositions d’artisanat et d’autres activités culturelles et commerciales. Tous les habitants de l’île affluent vers les villes pour présenter leurs spectacles de danse et de musique. A l’affiche également des transes mystiques provenant de montagnes reculées, des danses de village, des concours de cuisine, et bien d’autres. Le Festival des arts de Bali est l’événement culturel de l’année à Denpasar.

Le mois des temples

A Bali, tout le mois de Septembre est dédié aux cérémonies du temple. Le jour de l’inauguration d’un temple est aussi celui de son anniversaire et la fête a toujours lieu le même jour, quel que soit le calendrier utilisé. Les cérémonies sont toujours très colorées : les sanctuaires sont décorés avec des tissus et parfois du brocart ou des décorations en bois sculpté. On ne compte plus les fêtes traditionnelles qui ont lieu en Septembre !

Carnaval de Kuta

Pendant une semaine en Septembre, l’évènement propose de la danse, de la musique, des sports nautiques et des tournois de sport de plage sur celle de Kuta. Venez profiter d’un événement mettant en avant de nombreuses formes de divertissement, de la cuisine savoureuse aux activités sportives sur la superbe et célèbre plage de Kuta.

A Voir

Taman Kertha Gosa

Le palais Semara Pura a été aménagé en 1710, comme une grande place avec ses cours, ses jardins, ses pavillons et ses douves. La majeure partie du palais d’origine et de ses motifs a été détruite par les néerlandais en 1908 : la Pemedal Agung, la passerelle sur le côté sud de la place, est tout ce qui reste du palais lui-même. Dans le coin nord-est du complexe, la Kertha Gosa, qui était le siège de la Cour suprême du royaume de Klungkung, est un superbe exemple d’architecture Klungkung, avec un plafond couvert de belles peintures dans ce style. Les peintures, réalisées sur feuilles d’amiante, ont été réalisées dans les années 1940.

Musée Negeri Propinsi

Ce musée a été créé en 1910 par un néerlandais préoccupé par la disparition des objets culturels de l’île. Détruit dans un tremblement de terre en 1917, il a été reconstruit dans les années 1920, mais fut principalement utilisé comme un entrepôt jusqu’en 1932. A cette époque, l’artiste allemand Walter Spies et des fonctionnaires néerlandais relancèrent l’idée de collecter et de préserver des antiquités et objets culturels balinais, ainsi que de créer un musée ethnographique. Aujourd’hui, le musée comprend plusieurs bâtiments et expose de nombreux exemples d’architecture balinaise. Le bâtiment principal possède une collection de pièces préhistoriques, y compris des sarcophages en pierre et des outils en bronze. L’étage comprend des exemples d’objets traditionnels, y compris des articles encore utilises aujourd’hui.

Gunung Kawi

Au fond d’une vallée verdoyante se trouve l’un des plus anciens et des plus imposants monuments de Bali, le Gunung Kawi. Il se compose de dix statues en forme de visage taillées dans la roche, dans des niches abritées de 8 m de haut taillées dans la falaise. La marche est longue pour y parvenir mais les points de vue que vous traverserez, comme les anciennes rizières, sont magnifiques. Les légendes racontent que les statues ont été taillées dans la roche en une seule nuit par les ongles puissants de Kebo Iwa, une figure légendaire locale.

Temple Pura Ulu Luhur Watu

Ce temple datant du XI ème siècle est perché sur la pointe sud-ouest de la péninsule, au sommet de falaises abruptes. A l’intérieur, les murs de briques de corail sont couverts de sculptures représentant les figures mythologiques de l’ile. Seuls les fidèles hindous peuvent pénétrer dans le petit temple qui a été construit sur ​​la pointe. Cependant, les sommets des falaises offrent des points de vue sur l’océan indien à couper le souffle. Au coucher du soleil, allez faire un tour autour sur la falaise au sud du temple en vous éloignant de la foule. Ulu Watu est l’un des temples majeurs dédiés aux esprits de la mer.

Jardins botaniques de Bali

Fondée en 1959 comme une branche des jardins botaniques nationaux à Bogor, près de Jakarta, ces jardins sont désormais incontournables. Ils couvrent plus de 154 hectares sur les pentes inférieures du Gunung Pohen et offrent une vaste collection d’arbres et de fleurs.

Dans le parc, vous pourrez vous essayer au parcours d’accrobranche. Treuils, cordes, et autres filets vous permettront d’explorer la forêt au-dessus du sol.

98 Villas de Bali

Going somewhere else?

Bali

Bali is a western island and province of Indonesia located between Java and Lombok. Bali has earned both of the nicknames “the island of peace” and “Asia’s playground.” There is no shortage of spectacular art and nightlife on the island. Shopping, luxurious relaxation and fine dining will all be features of your stay in Bali. Food and drinks incorporate the freshest local cuisine and amazing flavors from local markets, often prepared by chefs and served in world-class restaurants. Discover outstanding views on the beach at dusk then go clubbing in Kuta.

Map of Villas in Bali

Introducing

Exceptional Environment

Bali is an island and the smallest province of Indonesia, located in the west of the archipelago between Java and Lombok. Its capital is Denpasar, and Singaraja in the north is the second and oldest colonial city with about 100,000 inhabitants. Mount Agung is the central mountain and an active volcano, at 3,031 meters in elevation. The island is surrounded by coral reefs, which makes for beautiful beaches with white sand in the south and black sand in the north.

A Rich, Original Culture

Despite three centuries of Dutch domination, Bali has been mostly influenced by Austronesian and Indian cultures. Its caste system is based on the Indian Hindu model, with four castes – Shudras, peasants (constituting 93% of the population), Wesias, the caste of merchants and administrative officials, Kshatriyas, the kingly and warrior caste and the Brahmins, holy men and priests. The island became independent in 1949 but the 1960s became the true start of a peaceful period, marked by the rise of tourism.

Outstanding Wildlife

Nature and tourist sights are astonishing in Bali. There are around 280 bird species and more than 900 reef species. Despite its small size, Bali has well preserved nature, although many plants have been introduced by humans. The humid climate and rainfalls are favorable for a rich flora. The main trees found are Banyan trees, Jackfruit, coconuts, bamboo species and acacia trees.

Best Island in the World

Bali is the largest tourist destination that has managed to preserve its traditional culture and arts. A vibrant nightlife can be found in Seminyak and Kuta, the main tourist spots on the island. Real estate has also been developing throughout Bali. In 2010, Bali received the Best Island award by Travel and Leisure, which stressed the friendliness of local people, excellent international and local restaurants, attractive surroundings and nice tourist sights.

History and Culture

The First Inhabitants and Rise of Buddhism

From around 3000 to 600 BC, Austronesian peoples migrated from South China through the Philippines and Sulawesi, then established cultures and villages on the island. They kept expanding eastward and occupied Melanesian and Polynesian islands until around 1000 BC. Between the 8th and 3rd century BC, the island of Bali acquired the “Dong Son” metallurgical techniques which spread from northern Vietnam.

The ancient historical period extended from 800 to 1343, defined by the appearance of the first written records in Bali, in the form of clay pallets with Buddhist inscriptions found in small clay stupa figurines and dating from around the 8th century. This period is associated with the arrival and expansion of Buddhism and Hinduism in the island of Bali. Inter-marriages between Java and Bali royalty occurred so that royal families gathered and ruled both of them.

The Majapahit Empire

1343 was the beginning of the Majapahit Golden Age, when Gajah Mada, Prime Minister of the Javanese king, defeated the Balinese king in Bedulu. The rule of the Majapahit marks the strong influence of Javanese culture on Bali. The few Balinese who did not adopt this culture are known today as “Bali Aga” (“Original Balinese”) and still live in a few isolated villages.

The Majapahit empire fell with the rise of Islam in the Indonesian archipelago. Bali became independent at the end of the 15th century, with much of the Javanese aristocracy finding refuge, bringing a strong influx of Hindu arts, literature and religion.

The Resistance to European Colonization

In 1597, the Dutch explorer Cornelis de Houtman arrived in Bali with 89 men and christened the island “Young Holland”. A second Dutch expedition appeared in 1601. Although the Dutch West India Company was very active in the Maluku Islands, Java and Sumatra, it took little interest in Bali.

The Dutch West Indies Company left the Bali trade to private traders who mainly dealt with opium and slave trade. Balinese slaves were appreciated for their manual skills and courage, the females for their beauty and artistic sense. Attempts were made for alliances between the Dutch and the Balinese in their conflicts with the Mataram Sultanate of Java but most of them failed, splitting the island into nine kingdoms that fought a succession of wars. This situation lasted until the 19th century.

For a brief period, in 1806-1815, the Netherlands became a province of France, and Bali was thus in contact with a Franco-Dutch administration. Then, the British occupied the East Indies but failed to make an alliance with the Balinese kings. The abolition of slavery triggered the indignation of the Rajas of Buleleng and Karangasem who fought British Sepoys in 1814.

Domination of the Dutch

The British returned the East Indies to the Netherlands in 1816, after what the Dutch tried to reassert and reinforce their control over their colonial possessions. A series of three military expeditions between 1846 to 1849 occurred and led to the Dutch victory in the north. Next, they established a colonial administration.

From 1855 onward, reforms were made, including the introduction of vaccination, the banning of self-sacrifice, and the eradication of slavery. In 1894, they defeated the local ruler of Lombok, adding both it and Karangasem to their possessions. In 1906 and 1908, Dutch assaults on the Sanur and Klungkung region led to the elimination of the royal house of Badung and the end of the Majapahit dynasty. Afterwards the Dutch governors exercised administrative control over the island, though local control over religion and culture was generally left intact. However, the West was shocked by the the sanguinary conquest of the southern part of the island, affecting the image of the Netherlands as a responsible colonial power. The Dutch progressively became students and protectors of Balinese culture and tried to preserve it. In 1914, Bali was open to tourism.

During WW2 Imperial Japan occupied Bali. Following its Pacific surrender in 1945, the Dutch returned to Bali to reinstate their pre-war administration. Balinese Colonel Gusti Ngurah Rai’s local army was was wiped out on 20 November 1946 at the Battle of Marga, breaking the last thread of local military resistance.

The Independence and Rise of Tourism

On December 29, 1949, the Netherlands recognized Indonesian independence and Bali was included in the United States of Indonesia. With social divisions across Indonesia in the 1950s and 1960s, Bali saw conflict between supporters of the traditional caste system and those rejecting these traditional values. An attempted coup in Jakarta by General Suharto led the army to become the dominant power as it instigated a violent anti-communist purge. At least 500,000 people were killed across Indonesia, with an estimated 80,000 in Bali, 5% of the island’s population. Suharto took over Sukarno as presidentand re-established relations with western countries.

After Suharto’s influence, tourism developed and helped to strengthen a sense of Balinese identity, giving the Balinese the means to support their island’s culture in Indonesian society. Bali achieved over 1,000,000 visitors in 2004 and more than 2 million in 2008.

Things to do

Bali Spirit Festival

Since 2008, in March, the Bali Spirit Festival has been a spiritual event that celebrates yoga, dance and music. As one of the world’s leading lifestyle festivals, the festival combines over 100 health and wellness workshops, concerts, healing arts, eco-marketplace vendors and much more. Come and enjoy five days of pure relaxation in Ubud.

Hari Raya Galungan

Held on May 21st, this is one of the most important events for the Balinese. It celebrates the good Dharma versus the evil Adharma. One key feature of this event is the fitting of ‘penjor’, a tall bamboo pole decorated with woven young coconut leaves, fruit, cakes and flowers, that is found on the right side of every house entrance. People must dress in their finest clothes and jewels for the occasion.

Bali Arts Festival

In June, the Bali Arts Festival is a full month of daily performances, handicraft exhibitions and other related cultural and commercial activities during which the whole of Bali comes to the city to present its offerings of dance, music and beauty. On display are trances from remote mountain slopes, forgotten or recently revived village dances, food and offering contests, classical palace dances, stars of Balinese stage, odd musical performances, “kreasi baru” (new creations) from the dance schools of Denpasar, as well as contemporary choreography and dance companies from other islands and from abroad. The Bali Arts Festival is the Denpasar cultural event of the year.

Temple Celebrations

In Bali, the whole month of September is dedicated to temple ceremonies. The dedication or inauguration day of a Temple is considered its birthday and celebration always takes place on the same day if the wuku or 210 day calendar is used. When new moon is used then the celebration always happens on a new moon or full moon. The celebration is always very colorful – the shrines are dressed with pieces of clothes and sometimes with brocade, sailings and decorations of carved wood. There are numerous traditional celebrations to enjoy in September!

Kuta Karnival

During one week in September, this festival features dancing, music, festivities, water sports contests and beach sport tournaments on the glorious Kuta beach. Come and enjoy an event featuring fun, entertainment, tasty food, beach activities and lots more on the beautiful, famous Kuta beach.

Places to see

Taman Kertha Gosa

In 1710, the Semara Pura palace was laid out as a large square, believed to be in the form of a mandala, with courtyards, gardens, pavilions and moats. Most of the original palace and grounds were destroyed by Dutch attacks in 1908 – the Pemedal Agung, the gateway on the south side of the square, is all that remains of the palace itself. In the northeastern corner of the complex, the Kertha Gosa was the supreme court of the Klungkung kingdom. This open-sided pavilion is a superb example of Klungkung architecture, with a ceiling covered with fine paintings in the Klungkung style. The paintings, done on asbestos sheeting, were installed in the 1940s, replacing cloth paintings that had deteriorated.

Museum Negeri Propinsi

This museum was established in 1910 by a Dutch resident who was concerned by the export of culturally significant artifacts from the island. Destroyed in a 1917 earthquake, it was rebuilt in the 1920s, but used mainly for storage until 1932. At that time, German artist Walter Spies and some Dutch officials revived the idea of collecting and preserving Balinese antiquities and cultural objects, and creating an ethnographic museum. Today, the museum comprises several buildings and pavilions, including many examples of Balinese architecture. The main building, to the back as you enter, has a collection of prehistoric pieces downstairs, including stone sarcophagi and stone and bronze implements. Upstairs are examples of traditional artifacts, including items still in everyday use.

Gunung Kawi

At the bottom of a lush green river valley is one of Bali’s oldest and largest ancient monuments. Gunung Kawi consists of 10 statues cut out of the rock. They stand in 8m-high sheltered niches cut into the sheer cliff face. The strenuous walk is broken up into sections. The views as you walk through ancient terraced rice fields are some of the finest in Bali. Legends say that the whole group of memorials was carved out of the rock face in one hard-working night by the mighty fingernails of Kebo Iwa.

Pura Luhur Ulu Watu Temple

This important temple dating back to the 11th century is perched precipitously on the southwestern tip of the peninsula, atop sheer cliffs that drop straight into the ceaseless surf. Inside, the walls of coral bricks are covered with intricate carvings of Bali’s mythological menagerie. Only Hindu worshippers can enter the small inner temple that is built onto the jutting tip of land. However, the views of the endless swells of the Indian Ocean from the cliffs are almost spiritual. At sunset, walk around the clifftop to the left (south) of the temple to lose some of the crowd. Ulu Watu is one of several important temples to the spirits of the sea along the south coast of Bali.

Bali Botanical Gardens

Established in 1959 as a branch of the national botanical gardens at Bogor, near Jakarta, these gardens are definitely a must-see.  They cover more than 154 hectares on the lower slopes of Gunung Pohen and boast an extensive collection of trees and flowers.

Within the park, you can cavort like an ape or a squirrel at the Bali Treetop Adventure Park . Winches, ropes, nets and the like let you explore the forest well above the ground.

100 Villas in Bali